A visit to Charnwood Primary School…

As I mentioned in my previous blog, I recently visited Charnwood Primary School at the invitation of the Head Teacher, Mr Bahadur, to see what the school looks like now and to take some photographs. I never attended it myself, but I easily recognised some of the features that past pupils have told me about. The ‘turret rooms’ are still used as classrooms, but the stairs up to them now have carpets and bannisters, and everywhere is bright and colourful – much more so, I imagine, than it was in the past.

Entrance to one of the classrooms.

Entrance to one of the classrooms.

A textile hanging in the school hall.

A textile hanging in the school hall.

The school hall still has the plaque ‘In Memory of those from Charnwood Street Council School who Gave their Lives in the Great War’ of 1914 – 18, along with two more recent panels marking the school’s centenary in 1977.

1877 emblem small

1977 emblem small

I also got a look inside the bell tower, another original feature that can still be seen from the exterior (the roof was being repaired when I visited so I don’t have a photo of it from the outside). I certainly don’t envy whoever had to climb the ladder to the top…

The ladder inside the bell tower.

The ladder inside the bell tower.

There has been some rearrangement of the space inside the school. For example, the Head Teacher’s office and the library have been moved to different locations.

library small

The original playgrounds are still in use – though without the former separation of boys and girls!

Part of the original building.

Part of the original building.

One of the playgrounds.

One of the playgrounds.

The school building has also been enlarged with a recent extension.

The school extension.

The school extension.

Many thanks to Mr Bahadur and his staff for inviting me to the school and making me so welcome. They are collecting information on the history of the school and would particularly like to find old photographs or other items (maybe school reports from the past, or programmes of events). If you can help, leave me a message and Ill get in touch. One more photo to finish with…

Part of a corridor on the ground floor.

Part of a corridor on the ground floor.

One thought on “A visit to Charnwood Primary School…

Leave a Reply

